Where did the idea for my novel come from?

20, November,2006

Like you care!

The short answer is I don’t really remember.

I remember where the first idea came from. I used to work in an Intensive Care Unit and we had these really noisy laminar flow units (air curtains) which also served as the air conditioning for the unit. On night shift we regularly turned a few of them off, but we were told if we turned them all off, water (from somewhere unexplained) would back up and flood the ICU. I had this vision of the ICU becoming a huge ornamental lake with a tasteful hospital ward motif.

I didn’t have a story yet, just this scene, which I later transposed into an office flooded by a dope hydroponic system set up in someone’s cubicle.

Leave a Reply

