I may be a crap writer but Budda thinks I’m wise – “so I’ve got that going for me, which is nice”

13, November,2008

In my endless search for literary enlightenment I came across this, which I thought I’d share.

“The wise ones fashioned speech with their thought, sifting it as grain is sifted through a sieve.” – Buddha

I think fashioning and sifting speech pretty much describes what we do as writers (unless you’re stream of consciousness, Beat poet, then you’re out of luck).

There is also a little known addendum, passed down from the gurus who live in the remote Nepalese mountains.
“The truly wise ones buy drinks for agents at conferences and trade heavily on family connections in the publishing business.”

And one thought to leave you with.
If you’re a practitioner of the speechless art of mime, I think it’s pretty clear – Budda thinks you’re a moron.

Leave a Reply

